EU-Western Balkan cooperation through Erasmus+

At the recent Steering Platform Meeting on Education and Training, on 3 June 2024 in Skopje, the European Commission shared information on the cooperation with the Western Balkans economies in Erasmus+.

Erasmus+ is the European Union (EU) programme for education, training, youth and sport for the period 2021-27.
Erasmus+ funds academic mobility and cooperation projects that involve partners from 27 EU Member States and six associates (Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway, North Macedonia, Serbia and Türkiye) on the one hand (Erasmus+33), and from non-associates throughout the world on the other.
Erasmus+ supports activities that are closely matched with the common priorities for cooperation policy with third countries and regions. The remaining four economies in the WB region benefit from the International dimension of the programme, funded mainly by the IPA III instrument. In these economies the EU supports National Erasmus+ Officed to help promote the available opportunities. North Macedonia and Serbia have proper National Erasmus+ agencies instead.

A factsheet is now being prepared by the European Commission to look at how successful the international dimension initiatives with the four non associated WB economies so far. More information can be found at following links:

Erasmus+ 2023 factsheet for higher education in Albania

Erasmus+ 2023 factsheet for higher education in Bosnia and Herzegovina

Erasmus+ 2023 factsheet for higher education in Kosovo

Erasmus+ 2023 factsheet for higher education in Montenegro

North Macedonia Factsheet 2022

Serbia Factsheet 2022

As soon as the new factsheet “EU-Western Balkan cooperation through Erasmus+” will be available, it will be found at this page

Geographical focus:

Related posts: