Third Meeting of the Horizon Europe EU-Montenegro Joint Research and Innovation Committee

The third meeting of the EU-Montenegro Joint Committee on Research and Innovation under the Horizon Europe Association Agreement took place in Podgorica on June 13, 2024. It was co-chaired by Anne Haglund Morrissey, Deputy Head of Unit, Horizon Europe Association (EC, DG Research and Innovation), and Marijeta Barjaktarović-Lanzardi, State Secretary at the Ministry of Education, Science, and Innovation.

Key Points:

  • The EU highlighted the importance of the Horizon Europe programme for Montenegro’s researchers and innovation ecosystem.
  • Both sides were pleased with Montenegro’s increased participation, already matching the entire Horizon 2020 programme’s engagement.
  • Montenegro reported significant reforms, including the Smart Specialization Strategy, Scientific Research Strategy 2024-2028, Roadmap for Research Infrastructure until 2028, and the Law on Scientific Research Activity, all integrated into the Growth Plan for the Western Balkans.
  • The EU acknowledged Montenegro’s progress in innovation and technology transfer, academic-business cooperation, and commitment to the Horizon Europe programme.
  • The European Commission expressed readiness to assist Montenegro in integrating into the European Research and Innovation Areas.

Key conclusions included measures to enhance participation in Horizon Europe, such as cooperation through Missions and Partnerships, collaboration with the European Institute of Innovation and Technology, IPR valorisation, and stronger ties with the European Innovation Council and Joint Research Centre. Special focus was given to implementing the Reform Agenda activities related to the Growth Plan.

The next meeting is scheduled for 2025 in Brussels.

More information and official source

International cooperation with Montenegro

Geographical focus:

We are always here to talk!

Contact us