EU Civil Protection Mechanism

Last update:

The EU Civil Protection Mechanism aims to strengthen cooperation on civil protection to improve prevention, preparedness, and response to disasters. Apart from the 27 EU Member States, several others are participating, including the Western Balkans: Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Iceland, Moldova, Montenegro, North Macedonia, Norway, Serbia, Türkiye, and Ukraine. Following a request for assistance through the Mechanism, the Emergency Response Coordination Centre (ERCC) mobilises assistance or expertise. EU Member States and participating states may commit national resources for emergency response to the European Civil Protection Pool (ECPP).